Stop Turn

The mid-term elections are in two weeks and I’ve got to say it’s occurred to me that the American public is worse than air traffic controllers in expecting results immediately.  Listening to the rhetoric out there trying to steer the public hard right makes me wonder about long-term memory…or even short-term memory.

If you need your memory jogged, check out Don Brown’s post from last week.  For controllers, we’ve been working under the red book for a year and it expires in two.  Remember the white book?  Not quite two and a half years ago, I wrote these one, two, three posts for the FAA Follies.  Need I remind you that FAA Reauthorization has still NOT passed and we’re on our 16th continuing resolution?  Want to know why?  Reread Don’s post again.  (BTW, if you’d like to take action on the filibuster, click here.)

Now I don’t know about you, but I know that my family is in a better situation financially under the current administration than the previous one and it seems to me that our middle class isn’t shrinking as rapidly as before.  But maybe, for some reason unfathomable to me, you’re worried about big business.  I read this about the airlines this morning.  And their efforts to charge us for every little thing is yielding results for them overall.  Doesn’t seem to me that they’re hurting as badly either.

It may only be perception on my part, but it seems to me that gas prices seem to rise around elections whenever there’s a chance of Democrats gaining/regaining/retaining control and lower whenever there’s a chance of Republicans gaining/regaining/retaining control.  I actually interpret it as a good sign that fuel prices have risen lately – it means big business is worried.

If you’re thinking about a hard turn right instead of a more moderate view in these elections, I’ll put it in air traffic no-gyro terminology:  “Slightly right of course, stop turn.”

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

